Skip to content
LighterUSA logo.

Popular right now

Browse

LighterUSA logo.
WARNING: This product contains nicotine. Nicotine is an addictive chemical.
Guides7 min read

Disposable vape puff counts explained: what 7,000 or 35,000 puffs means

The puff count is a rating, not a promise. How a 16mL device can be rated 7,500 puffs or 30,000, what actually changes how long one lasts, and which specs to compare instead.

A Tyson 2.0 Legend 30K disposable vape in Cool Mint beside its box, with the screen showing e-liquid and battery levels
In this guide
  1. What the puff rating actually counts
  2. Same liquid, four times the puffs
  3. What actually decides how long it lasts
  4. E-liquid volume
  5. Power mode
  6. Your draw
  7. Battery and recharging
  8. Use the screen to measure your own rate
  9. Nicotine strength is the other number
  10. Which to pick

The short version

  • The puff rating is the maker's count under its own test, in the lower power mode; your draw length decides the real number.
  • Two Tyson 2.0 devices hold the same 16mL and are rated 7,500 and 30,000 puffs. Compare milliliters, not puffs.
  • Boost modes cut the count hard: the NYKD Icon drops from 35,000 puffs to about 20,000 in ICON Mode.
  • Use the e-liquid read-out after your first day to work out how long a device lasts at your pace.

A disposable vape's puff count is the biggest number on the box and the least useful one for guessing how long the device will last you. Two Tyson 2.0 devices on our shelf hold the same 16mL of e-liquid; one is rated 7,500 puffs and the other 30,000. The liquid did not quadruple, so something else is going on. Here is what the rating measures, what changes it, and which specs tell you more. Every figure below is from the product data for the devices we stock.

What the puff rating actually counts

The rating is the manufacturer's figure for how many puffs the device can deliver under its own test conditions. Where a device has power modes, the headline number is the one for the lower setting: the NYKD Icon is rated up to 35,000 puffs in Normal Mode and about 20,000 in ICON Mode, from one 22mL fill. The brands say the rest themselves. NYKD's product data notes that the actual count "depends on how you vape", and MIA's says it "may vary depending on draw length".

That is why the rating cannot be converted into days. A long, slow draw uses more e-liquid and more battery than a short one, so to the device it is worth several rated puffs. The number tells you how the maker measured the device; your own habit decides the rest.

Same liquid, four times the puffs

Put the devices side by side and the problem with comparing puff counts is obvious.

Device

Rated puffs

E-liquid

Battery

Recharges

Breeze Prime

Up to 6,000

10mL

1500mAh

No

Tyson 2.0 Heavyweight

7,000

15mL

550mAh

USB-C

Tyson 2.0 Round 2

7,500

16mL

650mAh

USB-C

Tyson 2.0 Iron Mike

15,000

14mL

600mAh

Not stated

Tyson 2.0 Legend

Up to 30,000

16mL

850mAh

USB-C

Mr. Vapor Arctic

Up to 30,000

22mL

Not stated

Type-C

NYKD Icon 35K

Up to 35,000 (20,000 in ICON Mode)

22mL

Not stated

Not stated

MIA ICONIQ 70K

Up to 70,000

Not stated

800mAh

USB-C

Divide puffs by milliliters and the spread jumps out. The Round 2 works out to about 470 rated puffs per milliliter, the Legend to about 1,875 from the same 16mL, the Iron Mike to a little over 1,000 from 14mL, and the Breeze Prime to 600 from 10mL. Nothing about the liquid changed. What changed is how the maker counts a puff and how much liquid each rated puff is allowed to use.

So a 30,000-puff device is not four times the vape of a 7,500-puff device. In the Tyson 2.0 case it is a device with the same size tank, a bigger battery, a second power mode and a different way of counting.

What actually decides how long it lasts

E-liquid volume

This is the consumable. When it is gone the device is done, whatever the battery says. Among the devices above the tanks run from 10mL (Breeze Prime) to 22mL (Mr. Vapor Arctic and NYKD Icon). A 22mL device holds a little more than twice the liquid of a 10mL one, and that two-to-one ratio is a far better guide to relative life than the puff ratings, which put the same pair at five or six to one.

Power mode

Turbo, Boost and ICON modes push more power through the coil for a bigger hit, and they drain liquid faster. NYKD states the trade exactly: 35,000 puffs in Normal Mode, about 20,000 in ICON Mode. The Tyson 2.0 Legend has a one-click Regular and Turbo toggle, and its 30,000 is an up-to figure; the mode you run in decides where under that ceiling you land.

Your draw

A two-second pull and a five-second pull are each one puff to you and very different amounts of liquid to the device. If you take long draws, scale every rating down in your head before you compare devices, and expect the gap between the rating and your real count to grow with the size of the rating.

Battery and recharging

The battery is the other thing that can end a device early, and there are two designs. The Breeze Prime carries a 1500mAh cell sized to outlast its 10mL with no charging at all; it has an LED battery light and nothing to plug in. The rechargeable designs (Tyson 2.0 Heavyweight 550mAh, Round 2 650mAh, Legend 850mAh, MIA ICONIQ 800mAh) use a smaller battery and a USB-C port, and you top them up as the e-liquid runs down. A rechargeable disposable that stops early has usually been left uncharged rather than run dry.

Use the screen to measure your own rate

Most of the higher-count devices carry a display. The Round 2 and the Legend have an LCD that shows e-liquid and battery levels, the Iron Mike has an LED display for the same two things, the NYKD Icon a digital screen with both read-outs, and the MIA ICONIQ and Legend Pro a screen each. That screen is what turns a puff rating into a useful number.

Note the e-liquid percentage after your first full day. If it dropped by 10 points, you have roughly ten days in the device at your pace; if it dropped by 25, about four. Two days of that beats any rating on the box, and it also shows you plainly what switching to a boost mode costs.

Tip

On a rechargeable disposable, read the e-liquid level rather than the battery level when judging how much device is left. The battery comes back with a charge; the liquid does not.

Nicotine strength is the other number

Nearly every big-count device we stock is 5% nicotine salt, which the brands also write as 50mg: the whole Tyson 2.0 line, the NYKD Icon, the Mr. Vapor Arctic and both MIA devices. The Breeze Prime is salt nicotine too, in 12 flavors of which two are 0% nicotine, and the Breeze Stratus 15,000 is nicotine-free throughout. A higher puff count does not mean a stronger hit; it means a device rated for more puffs at the same 5%. The Mr. Vapor Arctic is the one here that lets you adjust the nicotine and ice levels on the device itself.

Heads up

Nicotine is addictive. A 50,000 or 70,000-puff device is a great deal of nicotine in one package, so buy by how you actually use it, not by the biggest number on the shelf.

Which to pick

  • You want no charging and the smallest commitment: the Breeze Prime. 10mL, a 1500mAh battery sized to finish the tank, an LED battery light, draw activated.
  • You want a rechargeable mid-size with a screen: the Tyson 2.0 Round 2 (7,500 puffs, 16mL, LCD, Fyre mesh coil) or the Heavyweight (7,000 puffs, 15mL). Both ship with a USB-C cable.
  • You want the most liquid: the 22mL Mr. Vapor Arctic or NYKD Icon 35K. Both show their levels on a screen, and the Icon's Normal and ICON modes are the clearest demonstration of how mode changes the count. Our new arrivals post covers the Icon in more detail, and the NYKD collection has the full flavor list.
  • You want the longest ratings: the MIA Legend Pro 50K and ICONIQ 70K. Neither product card states the tank size, so compare them on their 850mAh and 800mAh batteries, triple and dual mesh coils and screens rather than on the headline number.
  • You want no nicotine: the Breeze Stratus 15,000, or one of the two 0% flavors of the Breeze Prime.

The full range, with live stock per flavor, is in our disposable vapes collection. Check the flavor and the strength before you order; our FAQ page covers the ordering and shipping questions.

Questions people ask

Does a 30,000-puff vape last four times as long as a 7,500-puff one?

Not necessarily. The Tyson 2.0 Legend (30,000) and Round 2 (7,500) both hold 16mL of e-liquid. The ratings differ because of how each device is tested and how much liquid each rated puff uses, not because one holds more. Judge by milliliters and your own draw.

Why does my disposable die before it reaches the puff count?

Either the e-liquid ran out faster than the rating suggests (long draws or a boost mode do that), or, on a rechargeable device, the battery needs a charge. Check the screen if it has one: a low battery with liquid left means plug it in, not throw it out.

What does Turbo or ICON Mode do to the puff count?

It raises the power for a bigger hit and uses e-liquid faster. NYKD rates the Icon 35K at up to 35,000 puffs in Normal Mode and about 20,000 in ICON Mode, from the same 22mL. The Tyson 2.0 Legend's 30,000 is likewise an up-to figure with Regular and Turbo modes.

Are all high-count disposables 5% nicotine?

Most of the ones we stock are, including the Tyson 2.0 line, the NYKD Icon 35K, the Mr. Vapor Arctic and both MIA devices. The Breeze Stratus 15,000 is 0% nicotine throughout, and the Breeze Prime has two 0% flavors alongside its salt nicotine flavors.

Which of these come with a charging cable?

The Tyson 2.0 Heavyweight and Round 2 list a USB-C cable in the box. The Tyson 2.0 Legend lists only the device, and the MIA ICONIQ charges directly over USB-C, so plan on using a cable you already own. The Breeze Prime is not rechargeable and needs none.

Written byThe Lighter USA team

Lighter USA has sold lighters, Zippos, vaporizers and nicotine pouches since 2007. The guides are written by the buying and support team, from products we stock and use.

Keep reading

More in guides

Ready to shop?

Free shipping on every order, free 14-day returns, points on every purchase.

Shop the store

Adults 21+ only. Age is verified at checkout.